
Story: A new apartment in built so people from the slums can live there but during construction one of the workers died, and they covered up the death by putting him in one of the concrete walls. One of the workers (Kenji - Kame) wants everyone to know and to let the guy rest, but all the higher ups just keep telling him to forget about it and that a dead body is no longer a human. There a love story in there too.... Instead of focusing on the crime/death (which would've been a much more interesting story btw!), it just goes on about how no one believes Kenji.
End of Act One: Opening scene was great but weird! I like the astetics on stage. I have no fucking idea What's going on. I feel all the sex and sexiness is unnecessary, and in over an hour all I know is a new apparent building is being built, someone's died in it (and there's a curse that single people can't live there), and Kame has a love story going on that for some reason they can only meet one specific time a day. Don't understand why they aren't dating and why they don't just live together?! The other characters: 80% could happily disappear, there's no need for them at all and listening to their stories was pointless and boring. O and Kame hasn't even had 50% of the stage time!!! I think it's one of those putting the most famous.person on the poster so tickets sell but not actually using them -_- The girl next to me even fell asleep at one point!
End of Act Two: The middle section was more interesting and went a lot faster, but damn they're all whiney and selfish babies!! Yumiko needs you grow up because she doesn't understand why Kame is so fixated on the death of this guy - are you fucking kidding me? He saw a murder be covered up and you can't understand why he's emotionally and mentality messed up? Grow the fuck up. The story is sorta boring, but I can't flaw the singing nor Kame's acting. The singing is top notch but I feel so much could've been done with the story. The whole person buried in the building is an interesting plot so I wish they'd made it a lot darker, more scary and more focused on that rather than the whole Kame fighting with himself and other people mentally over the death - which is a very Japanese theme so I can udnerstand if reviews and such so far have been positive about the show, but for a foreigner, the whole 'fighting your inner demon' kinda story line is way too boring and causes nothing to actually happen on stage. Also the fact that they didn't show Kenji desperately trying to let people know about the death and instead had Yumiko tell it as a voice over was a bit crappy. I didn't understand the dad scene, especially when Kenji is seriously yelling at his father but his father is making the scene comical - would've been SO much better if it's been a serious arguement with a tense atmosphere. Nor did I understand the scene in Mari's house. Is it safe to assume he lost his voice due to stress? I like the songs if that helps my review?
End of Act Three: I like how they use not only the stage but the entire room to act in. However... I got bored again... It got to the point that if Kame wasn't onstage, my eyes were closed and even then I could STILL understand what was going on which once again proves my point that everyone bar like 5 characters were not needed. Also this play doesn't seem to know what genre it wants to be. It has Kame crying constantly yet they had a comedic scene in there and the slum people are always happily singing and dancing, so the atmospheric balance was WAY off! The ending all seemed to be too convinient and predictable as far as Yumiko's story line is concerned. Also if you're gunna end the play in the depressing way you did, don't throw comedy into your play! But yes, the ending was.... meh.
Overall: The stage's look, the use of the room, the singing, and the acting was perfect but the story was boring, annoying as fuck and let it down immensly. The actual plot had SO much potential but the route the story decided to go made everything just fall flat and was a very old-style choice of Japanese theme that they decided to focus on. It was missing atmosphere as well, you couldn't tell if it wanted to be a comedy or a serious story. Also 80+% of the characters could be cut out and it's still make sense, and about an hour or more had no main characters on stage! so you cut that hour out too and it would've been a good play I think... so much unneccesary stuff was in it that has lead me to feel rather disappointed about it =/ Maybe it's cos I'm a foreigner, maybe it's because I wasn't sat near the stage, maybe it's because my Japanese isn't fluent yet (close but not)... I'd give this show... 4 out of 10. It had good points but mainly bad points.
Was it just me? What did everyone else think?