22 June 2016 @ 10:15 am
2016.06.16 Shunkinsho [Izaki Version]  



This play is based off a short story by Tanizaki Juichiro (movie synopsis here.) so I ain't gunna talk about the plot here. Just the highlights. You ready? So... Watched this last Thursday!! ^_^ and I was not prepared for this. I knew the basic story going in but it was much darker and deeper than what I knew and/or expected.


13433226_10208237425366489_6093974512069988082_o

But first a Pre-Show observation. The goods line was SO long! I got in about 6:40 (50 minutes before the show started) and there was already 4-way waiting line for goods! Luckily it only took like 10 minutes and I got my goods. All the randoms except one were NOT Izaki. But cos it was the first day, I kinda had the upper hand and could trade 5 of my 9 randoms for the rest of Izaki's - there's most definitely only 6 Izaki randoms so go me! But like EVERYONE wanted Wada xD Luckily I had a few to change, I was throwing them at people 'take him!' (yeah I still don't like him. I know it's not fair and I have no reason to besides he played Tezuka in Tenimyu but... I don't see the appeal of him. Maybe one day I will but I kinda hope not cos I already follow enough actors... back to the story!). I got to my seat about 10 minutes before it started and I was the second to back row and right behind me was a camera so I don't know if that was press or they actually were filming the performance tonight. Cos I think it was the only show Izaki and Wada had together (the cast swaps and changes everyday)... but I could be wrong.

13403916_10208237428726573_2837107668714747511_o

Now to the show!


I wanna get The Negative out of the way first; this is quite difficult to understand (or at least you'll find it more difficult to understand what they're saying) if your Japanese is of a low level. I had a few moments where I was like 'I'm hearing noise' so there's a warning to those who's Japanese isn't of a high level, BUT you can understand what's going on if you've read the synopsis before hand or just watch what they're doing on stage. But here's the main negative: those FUCKING books. Let me show you what I mean...


ClIA5_EWkAA8Dam
news_xlarge_DSC_4460

You can see them right? You can see that EVERYONE of them are holding one right?!
These fucking books!! Let me explain this to you; this book is essentially them NARRATING the story rather than SHOWING me the story. What's rule one of storytelling? SHOW don't TELL!!! OMG It was like listening to a 2 hour audiobook. I might as well have closed my eyes the entire time. Cos they just walked around the stage TELLING us the story rather than actually DOING the story. OMG I hated those books... ALSO Shunkin (who is BLIND, so this doesn't make sense!) wouldn't talk unless she was holding the book, which makes it super distracting when one of the character is running to put a book in her hand. I just... I don't understand what they were trying to achieve by saying 'This is the story about how Sasuke became blind' and them proceed to narate the story rather than act it out. *pulls hair out* I even wrote on the sheet how distracting the book was and how much I wish they hadn't used them. UGH! But now that we're past the infuritating, distracting, rather largely negative part of this play. Let's get to the deep dark juicy stuff!!

Sexy Galore!!

I'll start with Izaki's performane. He was beautiful! His voice was beautiful and soft too <3 and the way he moved. I liked his blind performance too. And omg his scream when his face gets burned off!!!
It was chilling. Also his crying was perfect. Omg amazing acting! I think Izaki did SUCH a good job in this role. The way he moved up and down stairs even though he's 'blind' and in a restricting kimono <3 Just Izaki was perfect. His character however was a complete bitch! So turns out she wasn't always blind (which I thought she was) and it just happened one day so you can sorta understand where her attitude and resentment comes from but holy shit she's brutal! Sasuke (the guy on the right next to her in the pic below) is in love with her and takes Shamisen music from her BUT she's SO horrible! He does something wrong or he annoys her took much and she's immediately hitting and smacking him across the face! And he'll just sit there, holding onto her legs crying 'I'm sorry! I'm sorry!' but she doesn't stop! She's complete trash! But you can't help feeling sorry for both her and Sasuke! But jesus, the amount of times we had beating scenes. It was kinda hard to watch even though it's just swings of her hand and the sound of wood clashing together. Jesus...

shunkinsho1

OH! And it took me 20 minutes to realise Wada was on stage xD sorry Wada-fans!

Now let's get to the juice: the sex scenes. They are IMPLIED sex scenes btw that doesn't stop them being juicy! Sasuke and Shunkin's relationship is already fucking strange but clearly they have a connection and she clearly has feelings for him after he's the only one who'll look after her once she goes blind and he entertains her day by him taking her lessons. So their relationship is deep and there are 3 key sex-related moments in this play:

1. Sasuke and Shunkin's first sex scene. It's simply, she brings him into her room, Wada's back is to the audiene and we just see Shunkin go down to kneel and it goes black. This act ends up in Shunkin being pregnant outside of marriage. And she simply has her kid and then tells them to get rid of it, she doesn't want it, and Sasuke doesn't even fight for the child cos he knows he won't win against her. Also she claims that she's been with many men so it might not even be his child (but we all know it is). Broke me heart how easily she just gives birth and is like 'right get of it'.
2. I think the two of them are already married at this point and we're at a point when Shunkin kinda accepts her feelings for him and recognises his existance and it's simple, Izaki's back is to us and we just see Wada untying his kimono and he pulls down the kimono over her shoulders and then once again the lights black out. This was an emotional moment because, as I said, it's more of an emotional and real moment for them both. I loved this scene!! Just the whole Wada undressing Izaki and "showing" us his shoulder (it still had some red clothes on it but shhh) was just so sexy!
3. It's just after a guy takes an interest in Shunkin and after a night of drinking he sneaks into her room and starts to attempt to rape her but thank god Sasuke (unfortunately drunk due to being forced to drink) runs in almost straight away and protects her.

The implied sex scenes were great in my opinion and had a sexy element to them and made my heart race <3 I appreciated them and felt they were actually needed in the story to develope it.

OHH! And there was another sexy moment. So Shunkin always asked Sasuke to massage and clean her feet, but for some fetish reason, one time he decides to take her foot and (he pulls his clothing down) put it against his chest and then to his face. Which, her feeling senses being higher than normal due to being blind, she quickly realises and ends up in him being beaten. But it
was a surprisingly very sexy moment.

shunkinsho3


Now a few little random notes I wanted to mention:
- Wasa sweated all through his back xD which I think is cute. We all know I enjoy being able to see the sweat on my actors; it signifies to me that they're working their ass off.
- Everyone was crying by the end except me; I didn't cry but I could feel them coming during that last hug between Shunkin and Sasuke.
- The moment where Sasuke decides to go blind and the way they do it. With light flashes and with him simply holding a pin up to his eye. Omg I was both disgusted but also could not stop looking. The thought alone is sickening but the way they showed it made visually beautiful.
- T
here was an actual Pianist that played LIVE the entire time!
- From 15 mins before the play is set to start the 4 backdancers start going around the theater and the entrance with bird whistles and they did lots of funny things and gave origami birds to the audience and they 'communicated' by speaking bird. We obviously gave them a round of applause when they finished their like 20 minute performance cos to keep that going for twenty minutes and to keep everyone entertained is a skill!


shunkinsho5


The half-way point of the play was a comedy break on stage rather than the actors taking a break and the 5 main actors pretend to be (what the fuck is mozu in English?) shrikes and were dressed in bird like gowns. The had to go in the birdcage and one guy came to see which bird was the best and would buy it.

The theme of today's skit was: Words the would encourage a friend who's feeling down.


鈴木くん「コンコン ガラガラ〜 笑顔の宅配便です!」
Suzuki: Knock knock *opens door* Smile Post is here!
伊崎くん「あ、ご飯粒ついてる(パクッ) しょっぱい。…甘いもの食べに行こっか!」
Izaki: Oh, you have rice on your face *takes and eats it* it's sour! Let's go eat something sweet!
足立さん「これ俺のオリジナルなんだけどさ。考えるな!感じろ!」
Adachi: This is an original of mine. THINK! FEEL!
*MC then yells 'that's not original!' xD*
和田さん「だぁーいじょうぶだって!俺ママに家賃払ってもらってるから!」(Japan lines from @ane0810_3)
Wada: It's okay!! Cos my mum will pay for your rent!
The moment he speak that, a girl moved from her seat to go to the bathroom but in the moment, everyone thought it was Wada's mother running out of the theater xD it was hilarious and perfect timing!
Izaki won the skit went to off stage to go to his new owners house and then the owner implied he would eat Izaki!!! =O
Final thing I wanna note: It was a triple curtain call and people wouldn't stop clapping xD Izaki got to speak at the final call and said he was shocked they got a third call and that if we want, we should come again.
ALSO! Wada was such a gentlemen, opening and closing the back curtain for Izaki to go through during the applause xD

13422394_10208237812816175_1997709702190662510_o




---

Overall: I was not expecting the craziness that I got. It was DARK and Izaki's voice was beautiful and soft. The comedy was good while sparse. The second half was definitely more entertaining and completely obsorbed me. BUT I hated the style they used to perform it and it distracted me a lot. Also took me 20 minutes to realise it was Wada as Sasuke (I can feel the Wada-fans hating me even more now xD)
Rating: 7/10 (would be an 8 or 8.5 if not for those damn books!)