11 March 2016 @ 12:16 pm
Litchi Hikari Club: The Movie Review  



This review will be fairly quick and short as I'm a HUGE fan of the LCH stuff and I made a long review of the musical back in December here. I also loved the stage play and read some of the manga and watched the mini anime series. But today is about the film! And if you really want the quickie: The story is exact to the manga/stage/musical so if you know the plot for any of the previous LCH stuff then you don't need to worry about there being major plot differences in this film besides what they decided to cut out. Also the visuals were perfect but overall it was an alright film incomparison to the stage and musical, especially when it comes to acting.

So let's get into some more details.




I wanna stick with the positives first. This film was produced VERY well. I really like the cinematography and the dark colouring and the angles and everything used. It was produced perfectly and is visually perfectly. Next is, unlike the musical/stage, we get to see OUTSIDE their den in the movie and it was interesting to see what the director and produces thought their world looked like outside. It was pretty similar to what's hinted and what we're told but it was a little less rough than I had imagined. But it was nice and refreshing to be able to see outside their den in the film. Next positive, I guess, is the violence and gore in it. Not gunna lie, I did look away a few times, especially when they burned that girls eye. So I was happy with the violence and gore. Although I think I prefer the way the deaths occur in the musical and stage. Because stage and film are different, they obviously have different ways of 'killing' too due to limits (especially on stage) and what they can do. Overall the story flowed nicely and I think it had a nice pace but I do feel I wasn't as emotionally involved with the film compared to the stage; again this might be a format limit.


The MAJOR positive I wanna discuss is Furukawa's acting. Holy crap! He PROVED himself in this! I've not liked his acting since before Itazura Kiss - that drama just didn't allow him any acting room and made him look shit. But holy crap in this movie! Furukawa STOLE the acting show! Which is odd cos I went to watch it for 3 other actors sake and I was COMPLETELY glued to Furukawa's Zera! He did a complete 180 and I wholeheartedly believe he WAS Zera! It was SO good! Seriously, his acting in this <3 He's definitely proved he CAN act now thanks to this movie!! And please don't ask me to rank all the Zeras... they've ALL been amazing! I can't choose!

Niko's story was more heartbreaking in this version too </3

Now for the negatives and downers; I was disappointed with Nomura's acting. Maybe it was due to the director but I felt we didn't see ANY scope from him and that he was very one dimensional. I've always liked Nomura's acting and in this he just seemed so.... meh. Another downer is: The movie was no where near as sexy as it should be! The whole hilarity and craziness of LCH is supposed to be that we have these guys who want to kidnap girls and only look at them but their to main leaders are gay as fuck and of course all the others wanna molest the girls, not just look at them! Also it's all very Hilter-esque which makes it all the more crazy and hilarious. And it just wasn't sexy at all! The scenes between Zera and Jaibo were so.... safe. Let me explain....

2012 Stage Play: A GIANT penis comes out of the floor during a scene when Jaibo and Zera start getting it on. That's hilarious and obviously makes the room all erotic and stuff! But in the film? We see Jaibo go down and out of camera shot and all we hear is the noises. Not even a decent reaction from Zera!! Like wtf?! You're ruining
LCH!!!!!

I have to say that the Dafu and the masturbation scene was alright but again the stage and musical was much more sexy and racy, and LONGER might I add. But yes...

The final thing that really annoyed me was that they didn't even show Zera and Jaibo's flashback!! It's like one of the best scenes!! Especially with the whole umbrella and 'you're like a girl' and that's why their relationship starts!!! Like wtf?! How can you cut that scene out!!! And it's all of like 2 minutes long!! WTF?!?!?!?


Rage over xD


Kanon was okay in this. But I still haven't liked any of the Kanon's so far I don't think...


---

Overall: It's a good take on the story and I still enjoyed it BUT the stage play and musical versions are FAR superior. But Furukawa did steal the show but again there were things that I couldn't either get in on or were cut out that made me unhappy.


Rating: 6/10

LCH Format Ranking:
2015 Musical
2012/2014 Stage
Original Manga
2016 Movie
Mini Series Anime